Confessional

It has been 6 months since my last post and 1 year and 1 month since I began my first professional library position.  Much like the last post, I have been slacking a bit.  Surely there must have been some interesting things that have happened.  I just forgot to blog about them.

..

Where I am

I’m looking to make a change.  For the past couple of semesters, I’ve been involved in my library’s User Experience task force and working heavily with our new interface designer (who previously worked doing UX for companies).  I love it!  I think User Experience is even further into my subject interests than what I once thought about library science.  It’s a perfect meld of my social science research background and interests and my love of librarianship.  I’m looking to make a change.

.

But how???

This is the question wall I’ve been hitting my head into every time I go forward.  How do you go about making a name for yourself in a particular area?  How do you handle transitioning into another subject area?  Yet another area they don’t cover in library school.  I understand that there are things you need to figure out on your own and there isn’t one way to do it, but a little guidance would be nice.

.

Anyway, I have some big decisions to make pretty soon and the GRE to take.  One of my options involves another degree and since my GRE scores expired this year (that makes me feel soooo old!), I need to take it again.  Going through these testing books makes me realize I did it so wrong the first time!  Also, it makes me realize that my head for math, which was limited before, is even more so now.  I had to Google what an integer was!!!  Oy vey!

.

As with the last post, I’m still getting frustrated with myself about getting more involved and “doing more”, but as my cork board says, “Be patient with yourself”.  I’ve also taken to looking at the CVs of people I admire.  This is a good tip!  It’s quelled my inadequacy fears as well as let me know the path they have taken to get where they are.  Some I’ve found on their websites or online.  For others, I just asked the person.

.

Another issue that doesn’t necessarily relate to libraries: money, money, money!  I am making more than I ever did as a student and I can’t seem to get myself out of the living day-to-day/ paycheck-to-paycheck mindset.  It’s difficult to switch gears and think about long term financial goals.  Anyone know of a financial adviser who takes pro bono cases??  I suppose this is something you learn as you go as well.  Being a grown-up is hard!  And if you ever thought, as I once did, that you would/should have it figured out by 28……….I’m sorry to say, you’re wrong.  I’m starting to wonder if that ever truly happens.  It could all be a ruse.

dont-grow-up_o_505271

To conclude: there are many areas of librarianship and I’m figuring out my place within it all as I go along and trying to read up on my interests as much as I can.  Oh!  And as I’ve been feeling like I don’t have anything on the horizon as far as output, I’ve offered to review another book.  It makes me antsy when I don’t have anything going on.

.

Lastly: I’m shifting gears, changing my URL, the look of my blog, etc.  My life has changed since library school, so it’s time for an upgrade.

INSERT HILARIOUS UPGRADE MEME (I couldn’t find one I liked)

Leave a Reply

