4 and 6 months

It has been 4 months since my last post and a little over 6 months since I’ve been doing my job.  6 months because I don’t count my first month of August where I was getting acquainted with the people and things, then in Singapore for 2 1/2 weeks, then settling back in the week upon my return.

Today I sat down and did a personal 6 month review of myself and what I’ve done in my position.  This isn’t required or anything, but there are so many avenues that I can go down with the job, I don’t want to get sidetracked.  I now have a list of 10 things that I have done for the DE component of our library.  And I feel as though I have failed.  Someone posted somewhere a few months ago that “you don’t have to do all the things”.  I really wish I could remember where I saw that or who posted that!  I keep trying to remember that because I think I may be ahead of the game, but how do I know??  Is there some sort of scale to measure what you’ve done as a new librarian and if it’s enough?  For instance, I have yet to officially be involved in NCLA or ALA.  I created this statewide advocacy campaign for a committee of NCLA, but I’m not officially part of that committee.  Also, I have been trying to get on some of the DE-based groups and sections of ALA, but haven’t heard anything back yet.  So #1 on my “Do More!” list is to get more involved in an official capacity.  I also just volunteered to be on the online learning committee for my university, so that’s something, but until it has been decided and made official, it’s nothing.  I don’t know why I am so hard on myself. I just posted this on the board in my office today:

Image

Because I need to be reminded every second of every day.  I also put this quote up:

YOU ARE ONLY HUMAN. 

YOU DON’T HAVE TO HAVE IT TOGETHER EVERY MOMENT OF EVERY DAY.

Also, something I need to constantly be reminded of.  I am just surrounded by fantastic, accomplished people that I want to be as fantastic and accomplished as they are.  In my case, I have to remember though that I’ve only been in librarianship for 3 years in April.  I started as a Page at Cameron Village Public Library in 2011.  So, some things to remember with my career, and with life in general,…

  • You don’t have to do all the things.
  • Be patient with yourself.
  • You are only human.  You don’t have to have it together every moment of every day. 

AND ALSO

  • Don’t compare your beginning to someone else’s middle.
2 thoughts on “4 and 6 months

  1. I’m super late, and just catching up on your blog, but I posted that “you don’t have to do ‘all the things'” . You’re on the right track-your track, and I think you’re doing great!

    • Yeah! Thanks for letting me know. I really could not for the life of me remember. Thank you for the pep. 🙂 And right back at ya!

Leave a Reply

