American Library Association 2013 Annual Conference

It’s that time of year again!  If you haven’t read any of my other posts about conferences, know this….I ADORE conferences!  It’s the perfect time to meet so many new people and learn all you can from them. Last year, I attended as part of my Institute of Museum and Library Services scholarship.  This year, I’ll be attending as a Spectrum Scholar.  This wonderful scholarship program offers scholarship money for tuition, free travel to the Spectrum Leadership Institute at the annual ALA conference and an amazing network of past and future Spectrum Scholars.  It was my goal to apply and become one at the beginning of library school and goal accomplished! I will also be volunteering at the International Visitors Center for the International Relations Round Table.  I volunteered for the North Carolina Library Association conference and I got to meet some great people, so I’m hoping this will allow me to do the same! This will be my first time in Chicago.  I love architecture and from what I’ve been reading, Chicago has some of the most amazing buildings, but I don’t think I’ll have enough time to see them all.  I’m already planning a strictly architecture trip for the near future! 🙂  Anyway, I’m hoping to squeeze in at least 3 or 4 sightseeing opportunities while I’m there. Lastly, networking, networking, networking!  Although I’ve got two job options in the works, I would love to see what else is out there and make some good contacts.  I’ve got my resumes ready for the resume reviewing service they’re offering at the conference.  I’ve also got my business cards with my blog url on the back so people can view my resume through there.  I feel pretty prepared……except I haven’t packed yet!! #ALA2013 here I come!!!

One thought on “American Library Association 2013 Annual Conference

Leave a Reply

