Libraries/Librarians in Books: My New Obsession

It started with What the Librarian Did

My friend writes erotica fiction and I’ve been trying to get her to write a story about a librarian and that started my search for books about librarians and/or libraries.  I did a search in the catalog and found this one.  It’s a romance novel about a librarian and a rockstar.  I read this from start to finish and loved the story.  I like romances where there’s a lot of back and forth between the “lovers”.  I don’t want love at first sight and all that mushy stuff.  I want a leading lady with some fight in her.  I would recommend this book for those who like romances with a twist.

Library Wars: Love & War.

Here’s the premise from this young adult graphic novel: Because of the Media Betterment Act and its resulting committee, there are regular book hunts.  The committee wants to exercise censorship over all media, including restricting offensive books.  Local governments set up armed units to fight the censorship under the Library Freedom Act.  That’s where the story starts; with the main character, Kasahara, training for the task force.
It’s pretty incredible to read about these defense forces risking their lives to protect books.  There are Librarians who are in charge of the books, a defense force that is the military force that protects the books and the task force does both jobs because they have to be ready for any eventuality so they have to know how to perform all kinds of jobs.  And of course there are multiple love stories!
I read all 8 books in this graphic novel series and was disappointed that the 9th one doesn’t come out until April 2, 2013.  It was my first time reading manga and luckily the security guard at the library where I work showed me how to read it.  The format is a tad confusing, but once you get used to it, it’s a lot of fun.  They’re a short read and the story is so interesting that you can get through them very easily.

The Night Bookmobile.

This one is by Audrey Niffenegger, who also wrote The Time Traveler’s Wife.  I’ve never read anything else by her, but when I was checking in books and I came across this one, I just had to read it.  It is also a graphic novel, but this one is in the adult section.  Just to give a short synopsis without ruining the story, a woman is taking a walk at night and comes across a bookmobile….. I don’t want to say anymore that will ruin the mystery and the surprises in it.

Just trust me, it’s delightful and strange.  It’s definitely for adults and again, it’s a great short read.

I’m always looking for more, so if you have recommendations, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “Libraries/Librarians in Books: My New Obsession

  1. Try the Giant’s House and Americus. The main character in GH is a public librarian, and in Americus (a graphic novel) a young character becomes a library page and is close to the YA librarian on staff.

Leave a Reply

