How Much is Too Much?

This is a question that I have been asking myself lately.  When you stack on top of stacks that are on top of stacks, something’s bound to fall…eventually.

It seems as though the closer graduation gets, the more activities and projects I tack on to my already busy schedule.  I need to be prepared!  I don’t know if the time of this post is somewhere you can see, but it is 5 am and I have been up for an hour already.  I went to bed at around 11:30pm.  There is just so much to do.

Starting with a 3. something mile run at 6am.  I am running a 5k in 2 weeks and because of my flirtation with the edge thanks to too many commitments, I have been slacking to keep sane and thus not training for it.

I am NOT a long distance runner!  I repeat, I am NOT a long distance runner!  

I never have been and I never will be.  But Color Me Rad was just too cool to pass up!  AND it’s being held in Raleigh, so I don’t have to travel anywhere to do it.  So hopefully, I can run everyday until the run and be ok.

These past two hours, I have been pulling a “Tamara” and making to-do lists.  That’s what I do.  I make to-do lists.

Write in my blog

ALA student chapter duties

Conference proposal

Scholarship app

Schoolwork

And there are sub-categories under some.  They never stick though and I’ll be making another list soon enough.  That’s what I do though and I’ve been doing ok so far, so it’s not all bad.

Point…..

Know your limits!  You may not be busy with your commitments at that moment, but who knows about in a couple of weeks.  Things pop up, then you’re left with a two page to-do list and not enough time or energy to complete it.

Breathe.  I embroidered this onto my laptop case, because I forget to do this often. Breathe, get your wits about you and breathe again.

Meditate.  Have yet to master this one, but it’s a good skill to have.

Ask for help.  I have a perpetual aversion to this for some reason, but I’m working on it.

Listen to your body!  I am a firm believer that your body knows what it needs and will tell you if you listen to it.  The big problem for most is the not listening part.

So these are some things that are helpful if you also share my problem.  Oh and lists!  Lists are great.  Putting your mind on paper so you can clear it for a moment is one of the best things ever.  Just keep up with your paper mind, so you don’t lose it! 🙂

It’s called a mind dump.  I read about it somewhere.  Every night before bed, you’re supposed to write down everything that’s flowing through your mind, so it will rest and you can fall asleep peacefully.  I don’t do it because that just starts the thought vomit that doesn’t want to stop….once I get rid of something, another things comes up to replace it.  But, give it a try!  It may work for you.  It’s a fantastic idea!

What was the question again?  Oh yeah, how much is too much?  It’s different for everyone, so again, know your own personal limits!  I know mine, so that’s why I’m up at now 5:30am trying to get things done.

4 thoughts on “How Much is Too Much?

  1. Great post, Tamara! Busy times, indeed, and it seems like October is a crazy busy month every year.

    One of my favorite iPhone apps is rememberthemilk.com. It’s a website too. Great to-do list. At my most organized, it’s what I add to and cross off from before bed.

    Hang in there with everything!

    • I think paper lists help me organize my thoughts better. Don’t know why, but thanks for the recommendation. I may still check it out, out of curiosity.

  2. I could use these tips myself, so thanks for posting! Have you tried Evernote? I haven’t, but it’s been recommended to me. I went out for a run the other day after not doing so in almost two weeks, so don’t feel bad. lol. I hope I can get back into my regular running schedule ASAP. Yes, the Color Me Rad race sounded too cool to pass up! Looking forward to seeing you and Eric out there!

    • I will have a look at Evernote. I love all of these tech suggestions! Keep them coming! I don’t always use them, but I love learning about what’s out there.
      Color Me Rad will be amazing! I’m not going to stress and I’m just going to have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

