It’s October Already!

Can you believe it??!  Today is October 1st and I’m freaking out! I’ll be graduating in May and I feel like there is so much to do.

This semester has been going extremely well.  My internship at Meredith College is shaping up to be a great experience.  I’ve written my proposal for a poster session at the 2013 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) conference in Indianapolis.  It’s based on the weeding project I’ve been doing as part of my internship.  Every time I go to a conference, I go to the poster sessions and I’m always left wondering how they got to do that and wanting to do it too.  So, I really hope I get chosen because it will be a great experience and it will look amazing on my resume.

I’m still volunteering at the reference desk at South Regional Public and still loving it!  I really do like the relaxed atmosphere and talking to everyone who comes in.  I especially love when people are super happy when I find the book they’re looking for or recommend a new one.  Right now, some of the librarians are talking about doing a conference panel of some sort at the Pop Culture conference hosted by the Pop Culture Association and the American Culture Association and they are graciously including me, which I am stoked about!  And if I get to talk about what I’m thinking I want to talk about (it’s a surprise!), then it will be the experience of a lifetime.  In another life, I was going to be a cultural anthropologist, so getting to combine that and librarianship and talk about it in front of people would be a dream.

I’ve been alerted to numerous library assistant jobs as of late and I’m applying to them all!  I’m really ready to make that next step up from Page to Library Assistant.  It pays more AND I’ll get to actually work the desk.  Cross your fingers!

My classes are going great as well.  I’m taking Introduction to Digital Libraries and Health Science Information Resources.  I was a little disappointed at first with my Intro class because I guess I didn’t really know what would be talked about in the course.  But now we are getting into the more practical part, which is what I was hoping it would be.  We will soon be scanning images to create our own mini digital collection and I’m really excited about it.  My HSIR class is interesting also.  I took it because it was the only resource class that I could fit in this semester, but also because I want to work with Spanish-speaking populations and in public libraries, they focus a lot on distributing health information.  There are tons and tons of amazing resources that we’re learning about, so its been really helpful.

Lastly, I am now the President of our ALA student chapter.  I was Vice President last year and it gave me a lot of experience with planning and leadership, so I know I’ll get a lot more this year.  I’ve an amazing executive board and we’re trying to do a lot to increase the status of our chapter.  I think we’ll succeed!

Well, now you know why I don’t post as much and why I’m so tired! And yet, I still feel as though I’m not doing enough.  Hopefully I am and when all is said and done, in May, I will have a nice job waiting for me when I graduate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

