2012 American Library Association Annual Conference

Hiya!

I just got back from Denmark Monday night and now I’m getting on a plane again.  This time, I’m headed for the 2012 ALA annual conference in Anaheim, California.  As part of my IMLS scholarship this year, we get an all expenses paid trip there.

As part of the trip, we are required to attend sessions in the following 8 content areas:

Management/leadership

Technology

Reference Services

Community Engagement/services

A User Population

Research

One Major Session

I’ve been to a few conferences already and I like to go to the sessions that pertain to my intended future focus of Spanish-speaking populations, outreach, etc, so I’m hoping I can find sessions pertaining to that and squeeze them into these categories.  Finger crossed!

At the end, we have to write a 3-5 page report about what information we gained and how we will use them in our career.

I’ve heard the ALA annual conference is nothing like the others I’ve been to regarding the mass number of people.  I’m looking forward to finally seeing what all the hype has been about and adding some more useful and practical information to my Librarian arsenal.

If you’ll be there, I’ll see you in Anaheim!!

Leave a Reply

