A Different Kind of War

I got a text this morning, after waking up a little late, from my boyfriend saying that Anonymous launched an attack on the FBI by shutting down their website.  I knew that Anonymous was essentially behind the Occupy movement and that it didn’t like the SOPA and PIPA bills, but I’m sure this act will bring all out technological warfare.

 

As a citizen, I’m against censorship, but it still involves politics so I’m fairly apathetic. (shameful, I know)  As a librarian, I am DEFINITELY against censorship and am trying to learn more about it.  I’ve heard different things through the grapevine, but I find it very frustrating that I don’t know where to look to find information.  I feel like Wikipedia will be biased against it, so it may exaggerate some of the facts and other news places might go the opposite way and add their two sense in.  I had an idea the other day that librarians in the information science part should form a league and make it their mission to create a website or an alternate internet where there is a space for pure fact.  I would really appreciate someone getting on that ASAP.  Thanks!

 

Anyway, this attack is big news!  I mean, someone shut down the websites of the Federal Bureau of Investigations, Department Of Justice, Motion Picture Association of America and Universal Music.  That’s extremely exhilarating!  If the article I attached is true, I don’t know how I feel about them making anyone unconscious accomplices.  It’s a genius tactic because unless they can find information in your browser history of you looking at an article like that, there’s no way you will be convicted in a court of law.  On the other hand, it’s shiesty.  They’re taking away our right to openly choose to be apart of this act.  In the general scope, getting those groups’ attention was a great move.  I hope it won’t be in vain.

 

ASIDE: I was just reading a little about PIPA from the site I included above and it says the full title of it is:

Preventing Real Online Threats to Economic Creativity and Theft of Intellectual Property Act of 2011

I’m sorry but, if this is accurate, isn’t “economic creativity” the reason we’re in this economic crisis we’re in now??

 

I visited the websites and they are all back up.  I’m sure if it weren’t for maybe an ‘anonymous’ tip from someone or for internet news outlets, it would’ve been like it never happened.  That’s what the government does; that’s their bread and butter.

 

I am actually shocked that these bills even got this far.  I don’t really pay that much attention, but for me it feels as though it just kind of popped up out of nowhere.  My boyfriend and I toyed with the idea that the occupation was the diversion to the government’s pickpocketing.  It’s the oldest con in the book.  Create a diversion/commotion and take something away or slip something in behind the scenes.  Not that I’m saying the government created Occupy, but that they may have seized the opportunity.  I can’t really see Obama being behind this though.  There’s an election coming up soon and he needs to make nice.  I’ll end this now because I don’t want to pretend I keep up with or know much of anything about politics and government.  I took AP Government back in high school where I learned a ton, but most of it has been forgotten I’m afraid.

 

I really just wanted to document this event in some way because I believe something big is on the horizon.

Leave a Reply

