21st Century Librarian

Musings of a Next Generation Librarian

Summer 2012 May 6, 2012

Filed under: Librarianship — Tamara Rhodes @ 2:03 pm

I had many a plan for this summer, but things have changed.  I wasn’t accepted into the Latino Museum Studies internship Program for the summer and I didn’t get the scholarship to go to IFLA in Finland.  Also, through some connections, I am in talks with a business school in Madrid to maybe work as a Librarian for their Virtual Library.  I’m still waiting to hear back, but it’s been a while, so it’s not looking good.   So what now??

 

I am still going to Denmark (June 1-17) and the ALA annual conference (June 21-26).  I just have to decide what to do with the rest of my summer.  This is a pivotal time and I want to make the most of it.

 

I have started volunteering with the South Regional branch of the Durham County Public Libraries on the reference desk.  My first day we talked about me helping out the the Spanish language resources and possible creating a Spanish information literacy instruction session, which I’m super excited about.  I’m still working as a page at Cameron Village Public Library and as a server and sometimes cashier at Cracker Barrel.

 

A couple other things I want to do this short summer: begin the literature review process for a research project, take Research Methods during the second summer session, and work on my writing and my music.  The choice is: do those things here in North Carolina or go stay with my best friend in California for a month and do those things a little and mostly work on my writing.

 

I’m leaning more towards California just because when will I ever have the free time to do that again??  Also, I think the change of scenery will be good for my creative juices, especially being around Patty who is making a living writing.  But I don’t want to lose this momentum of all of the projects I have going on….

 

Decisions! Decisions!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 449 other followers